February 15, 2006

Cornelio "CJ" Ancheta
Hawaii Contributor

Honoring Outstanding Filipinos at the UFCH Progress Awards

The United Filipino Council of Hawaii(UFCH), once again, honored Filipino achievers at the 2005 Annual Progress Awards on January 20 at the Renaissance Ilikai Waikiki Hotel. These individuals were recognized for their significant achievements and contributions to their specific field of endeavor and to the community.

"This is a momentous event as we reflect all the accomplishments of outstanding Filipinos," said Don Alvarez, UFCH President. " And for the first time, we are honoring our unsung leader, the late Philippine Consul General and UFCH founder Honorable, Juan C. Dionisio, Sr. by instituting the Juan Dionisio, Sr. Lifetime Service Awardee," he added.

On its 12th year, this Progress Awards is the Centennial Edition and an affiliate event of the Filipino Centennial Celebration Commission. "Instead of the usual one winner from each category, on this Progress Awards Centennial Edition we have a winner from the six major islands for a total of 35 awardees," said Leo Gozar, producer/director.

The awardees are: Education - Dr. Rebecca S. Ovitt, Principal of Hawaii Baptist Academy; Lucy C. Peros, Maui retired school teacher, Dr. Aida Ramiscal Martin, ELL Coordinator at Fern School: Entertainment- Epifanio Tedios, Musician; Elsie Saribay, founder, leader and dance instructor of Bailes de Pilipinas; Entrepreneur-Orlando Ganir, owner, Ganir& Company Pacific Rim Commercial Services; Roger Santos, owner, Paradise Foodmart and Catering; Elesther Calipjo, president of GK 's Janitorial & Landscaping Inc. and owner Calipjo Trucking Co.; Maria Watanabe, businesswoman: Government Service-Arnold Baxa, Immigrant Services Coordinator; Dr. Ramon Dela Pena, member, University of Hawaii Board of Regents; Danny Mateo, Maui County Councilmember: Healthcare and Medicine- Dr. Benedicto Galindo, private medical practitioner; Dr. Francisco Mercado, physician, Molokai Family Health Center; Humanitarian-Leonardo F. Delgado, teacher, Sacred Hearts Academy, Honolulu; Jose E. Bulatao, Jr. retired educator; Community Service-Dr. Serafin "Jun" Colmenares, commissioner, Filipino Celebration Centennial Commission; Madelyne Pascua, owner and director of Dance International Productions; Etrella Balbag, community leader: Law and Jurisprudence-Atty. William Domingo, private law practioner; Atty. Jeff Malate, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney; Atty. Eugene Santiago, police sergeant: Labor and Construction- Ernie Bello, Board of Director, KD Construction, Inc.; Honorio Esteban, owner Esteban Construction: Media And Communication-Leonora Albayalde, publisher/journalist; Rey B. Patao, radio announcer, KNUI am 900; Science and Technology- Flaviana "Fanny" Ancheta, science teacher, Lahaina Intermediate School; Sports-Layton Aliviado, team manager, West Oahu Little League; Paula Galantoc, swimmer enthusiast: Travel and Hospitality-Orlando Soriano, outstanding community leader; Outstanding Yout- Brandon Dela Cruz, and Denise Della. The Ating Kaibigan Award went to Leona Jona, Station and General Manager, KNDI Radio; the First Juan Dionisio, Sr. Lifetime Service Awardee went to Jake Manegdeg, government administrator and seasoned UFCH leader. The most coveted UFCH Lifetime Achievement Award went to Anacleto Alcantara, owner of Group Builders, Inc. Special recognition awards were given to Atty. Antonio V. Ramil as the brainchild of the Progress Awards and to Dr. Fred Soriano who sculpted the Sakada Statue, which is reminder of the hardships, challenges and triumphs of the Sakadas.

| Back To Top |

Copyright 2006 Ilocos Times. All rights reserved.

... View From the Belltower

... The Ilocano Way of Life

... Ilocano confirmed as member of Honolulu Police Commission

... Honoring Outstanding Filipinos at the UFCH Progress Awards

... Senator Lorraine Rodero Inouye - Distinguished Leader and Role Model